This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Karim Buzdar 2 weeks, 2 days ago.

• Author
     David Otika 
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 1
    Member Points: 82

I could figure out where to post this questions, so I am hopping I am in the right spot. First off, I am new to powershell just like many IT Admin who are suddenly find them self having to automate thus, learning PS. I have a script that I want to do the following; and when I run these lines one by one, it does what it supposed to do:

1. Look into a text file with computer names and run a script
    2. The script uses psexe to run, windrm.cmd on the remote computer.
    3. Using “Enter-PSsession the script access remote computer.
    4. It then stops wuauserv  service
    5. It deletes all file contents of “SoftwareDistribution ” content.
    6. Restarts the Wuauserv and reports the samething over and over again.

Here is the script I have, please help:

ForEach($computer in (Get-Content c:\\wsus\failedpc.txt ))

{ psexec \\$computer -s winrm.cmd quickconfig -q

Enter-PSSession -ComputerName $computer

stop-service -Name wuauserv -force

do {(Write-host “the service is still stopping”), (Start-sleep -seconds 30)}
    Until ((get-Service wuauserv).status -eq “stopped”)

Get-childitem -path “C:\Windows\SoftwareDistribution” -Recurse -force | Remove-item -Recurse

Start-Service -Name wuauserv -force
    do {(Write-host “the service is still starting”), (Start-sleep -seconds 30)}
    Until ((get-Service wuauserv).status -eq “started”)
    }
    Else
    {Break}

1+
     David Otika 
    Participant
    • Topics: 1
    • Replies: 1
    Member Points: 82