Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Roger Hass
      Participant
      • Topics: 1
      • Replies: 2
      Member Points: 114

G’day Folks,

I have this Nagging issue with viewing HDD’s in Higher OS’s on my LAN.

Downward compatibility from Win 10 or Win 8.1 to view shared HDD’s on my XP Pro SP3, VistaU and Win 7u, is not a problem.

However to view a HDD from my XP workstation on the 8.1, is a problwm which I have as yet not solved.

I need to be able to access all the HDD’s on my LAN and different OS’s, to and from them, i.e. upwards and downwards between the Microsoft Operating Systems without loosing too much security integrity.

All OS”s are protected by BitDefender either Internet Security on the lower OS’s like XP and Vista and Total Security on the higher OS’s Win 7 and up. ( I am an Agent For BD, hence able to protect XP and Vista)

If anyone has a definitive solution for me I would like to hear from you. Maybe @michael-pietroforte can help with this one ?

Regards / LeBug

• This topic was modified 11 months, 2 weeks ago by Roger Hass.
      • This topic was modified 11 months, 2 weeks ago by Roger Hass.
      • This topic was modified 11 months, 2 weeks ago by Michael Pietroforte. Reason: Changed title
      Michael Pietroforte
      Keymaster
      • Topics: 170
      • Replies: 640
      Member Points: 25,469
      Author of the year 2018

I think just by running Windows XP on your network, your security has already been compromised. Anyway, you say your problem is that you can access the XP machines from Windows 10 but not from Windows 8.1?

Roger Hass
        Participant

Thanks for the reply from Michael and Paolo,

I can access the shared Hard Disk Drives from Win 8.1 on the XP, Vista and Win 7, i.e. accessing HDD’s on lower OS’s from the higher OS like Win 8.1 is not a problem.