Tagged: 

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      Eniola Delano
      Participant
      Member Points: 0

Hello Guys,

Hows everyone doing today. My name is Eni and I am in the process of transitioning my career from working as a Project manager/Scrum Master to network security. I have no prior experience in this field but i am very much interested. I am currently doing a masters program in information assurance/cyber security and I recently passed the CompTIA Security+ certification and currently studying for another. I am PMP and CSM certified also and I am looking to learn about windows administration in order to learn the fundamental principles behind access management, system administration, sub-netting, how to configure VLAN, vulnerability testing, penetration testing, log analysis and interpretation and all the other good stuff.

My question is where do i start from?, and how do i have gain this hands-on experience, are there any videos that i can watch or any books that i can read to learn a more hands-on approach.

Thanks

Michael Pietroforte
      Keymaster
      Member Points: 31,761
      Author of the year 2018

Before you start improving your knowledge in security, you have to work as system/network administrator for a while. IT security is very different from real world security. Say, if you work for the security of a TV warehouse, you have to know little about TVs. However, before you can work in IT security, you first have to become an IT expert.

You can get started with getting a few Microsoft certifications and then continue with network certifications. As to books, you can check our free admin eBook list. You can begin with books about Windows 10 administration and then move on to Windows Server 2012 R2 / Windows Server 2016.